Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Essential Skill for SLPs: Saving Images from the Web on iPad (UPDATE)

This post also appears on SpeechTechie.

I have previously emphasized here that being able to save images from the web is an incredibly useful skill.  Besides providing visual cues for our students, images serve as material to make all kinds of great projects using various webtools and apps.  It used to be that this looked a certain way on iPad, but then Google has been changing a lot of their apps' "look and feel," including installing a sort of "cover flow" interface with Google Images.  So it came to pass that I was recently in front of a whole crowd of people demonstrating how to save an image on iPad, and it all of a sudden didn't work at all like I thought it would! This is more than OK. It is great to model technology (and other) failures in front of other people (thanks Meg Wilson for that way of thinking).  It puts them at ease, lets them laugh at you a bit, and shows that tech problems can usually be solved with some deep breathing, tinkering, or a quick search.

[EDIT] In a way, this is a double-failure, because I thought the process of saving images worked in a whole new way post-"Cover Flow," but in reality it's pretty much the same and I just wasn't tapping-and-holding correctly, in front of an audience OR when I was writing this post.  I guess I am less a fan of double-failures, it seems a little too much, no?  I apologize to anyone who saw an earlier version of this post, was confused by my error, and wasted time as a result! Here are the steps- btw I made these in a jiffy using the great iPad app Skitch from Evernote.  I'll have to write about that later!

Note that this is the way to save images in Safari. I heard from reader Jeanne T, an AT Consultant and SLP, and also the very helpful reader who pointed out my earlier error, that this process does not work when using the Google Search app, and I just confirmed that. So when you need images, use Safari.  Thanks Jeanne!!

On this screen you can also sweep right or left to move to other images, as in "Cover Flow"


  1. Sean,

    This is another one of those hidden treasures that are so helpful to know about. I didn't discover this until about four months ago. Thanks for sharing so that others can take advantage of this feature.

  2. An alternate vital variety inside way these advances carry out the employment is the way that the loan specialists conveying them truly don't perform credit checks at all. This can settle on them a favored decision for men and ladies why should not able get FICO rating somewhere else and who could have a foundation of poor credit - CCJs, individual chapter 11 et cetera. Check Cashing

  3. Need not to stress over your money related complexities as you can without much of a stretch get the stores of to uproot the financial issues without any bothers. Your recolored record for late installments, CCJs, IVA, unpaid debts, liquidation, abandonments and bankruptcy will no more a snag which let you in inconveniences. check cashing costa-mesa

  4. Looking for a proper auto that will suit your needs and your wallet is another vital step. You need to discover something that meets every one of you needs and will be something you will have the capacity to serenely bear. car title loans in fresno

  5. I like this a lot. Thank you for sharing. I'm always looking for upcycles like this. In the end, you don't know it was a shipping pallet to begin with!
    Kolkata Knight Riders Team Squad Captain Name
    RCB New Players List
    Kings XI Punjab New Jersey Logo Images

  6. This is a great web site. Good sparkling user interface and very informative blogs. I will be coming back in a bit, thanks for the great article. I have found it enormously useful.
    cat mario
    clicker heroes
    curve fever
    dragon ball z devolution
    duck life
    gun mayhem 2

  7. Some lenders may likewise furnish you with understudy auto advance grants or gives or some likeness thereof. You should simply to give them your understudy id furthermore the data of your University. A few understudies may likewise be qualified for military credit, if you have an individual from your family who once was in military or you were a piece of military before. Payday Loans Costa-mesa

  8. Along these lines you won't need to recall to place it in, you'll simply need to recollect that it's turning out, and modify your different accounts around it. The programmed withdrawal is your most secure wager and additionally overdraft insurance. car title loans

  9. Keep in mind that when choosing private understudy credit solidification, we are simply combining all our qualified private advances into a more current single private one. So fundamentally what we are after when merging is the substitution of our various regularly scheduled installments into a solitary new one. Cash Advance

  10. The initial two contrast on the premise that advances to understudies have lower most extreme cutoff points than advances to parent(s) yet installment begins prior (in actuality promptly) if there should arise an occurrence of the later. Payday Loans Chicago

  11. There are individuals and establishments who extend their assistance to understudies and graduates who need to begin their lives right by ensuring that they can mindfully meet their money related commitments. Cash Advance

  12. These advances can pay for most if not the majority of an understudy's training costs. The costs that are not secured by such advances can be paid for through private credits, low maintenance work, and parent commitments. Payday Loans

  13. On the off chance that it happens that the individual does not reimburse the advance, the bank needs adequate insurance to be close by to adjust for any unpaid assets. While considering an entrepreneur for a credit, the bank additionally takes a gander at the business' productivity record, current resources, and the proprietor's interest in the organization. cash advance chicago

  14. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com