Thursday, April 5, 2012

Articulate It!

This post originally appeared at Play on Words. Thanks to author Sherry Artemenko for allowing us to re-post!

As speech pathologists we are always looking for new tools to add to our bag, and certainly the iPad has become a favorite for all of us, including the kids! Sifting through the thousands of apps takes time, but is worth it to have a stash of great apps to enrich our therapy sessions.



Articulate It! by Smarty Ears ($38.99, Universal app for iPhone/iPod/iPad is a welcome addition to our world of apps. Designed by one of the leading developers in speech and language apps, Barbara Fernandes, it starts with a complete video tutorial so you can learn all the features available. Besides providing over 1,000 images to practice all the consonants in the English language, you have options to select specific sounds (Phonemes), Phonological Processes or Manner of Articulation which gives broader options than just practicing specific sounds. Words can be practiced at the Word or Phrase (sentence) level with options to hear a recorded production of each task as well as record your client’s attempt. Percentage of accuracy, words attempted, recordings and notes can all be accessed in the child’s Report Card and shared through e-mail or printed to inform parents or teachers.



What I liked:
  • Great 5 minute tutorial explaining all the features
  • Ability to use in a group session, easily selecting the target sounds for each child and setting up taking turns with appropriate tasks for each child–even the ability to rotate the image on the screen to face children around a table
  • Easy collection of data including recordings from the session as well as words attempted
  • Ability to select your goals from the last session and pick up where you left off last session without going through the selection process again
  • Variety of images–photographs, drawings and stick figures –to portray nouns, verbs and adjectives for various language options
  • Flexibility to adjust settings
  • Text aimed at an older audience than preschool such as "Thebes is a city in Egypt” or “Lori was thereby declared the winner,” which will keep the interest of adults too.
Kids loved to be involved with recording and listening to their attempts as well as rate their response, pressing the check mark! I know this app is constantly being improved and revised so would suggest that some games be added for some variety to keep kids engaged.

I highly recommend this app for speech therapists and parents so kids and adults can become more proficient in their articulation.

The opinions above are solely those of the author. Articulate It! was provided for review by Smarty Ears.

23 comments:

  1. I am happy to come here and learn about it and dissertation writing help thesisontime.com services available for students online.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You topic is very great and useful for us…thank you
    Visit to friv than play games 2 girls and play game kids games ! have fun!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Despite the fact that a payday credit has numerous advantages, you should likewise consider the downsides. They are the most fundamental when making the last choice. cash advance chicago

    ReplyDelete
  4. I already read this news on Play on Words, but on this blog it stated very good. The tone is perfect and user friendly.
    Play on words it is posted for professionals and not easy to understand for newbies. This post is good for kids who want to learn gaming.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thirty years back we would shop in neighborhood Town Centers. We'd visit the neighborhood butchers, greengrocers, meander around the open business sector and on the off chance that we felt rich we'd have a wander around the nearby furniture and decorations store. Check Cashing

    ReplyDelete
  6. This blog is a great source of information which is very useful for me.
    العاب بنات

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thank you for sharing. This game sounds really interesting. I will download it for my kids
    gmail account login

    ReplyDelete
  8. Let’s keep are safe place to play the very best free games for kids! Please click: wingsio | slither io | abc

    ReplyDelete
  9. Normally understudies need achieved a specific level of obligation, so a little adjust of just $5,000 is not going to be entertained - the most minimal parity is typically $10,000. At the point when clearing school obligations along these lines, it may likewise be important to demonstrate a failure to pay by giving pay data of the group of the understudy and additionally the understudy pay. https://www.usacheckcashingstore.com/san-diego

    ReplyDelete
  10. This sort of government understudy credit combination is intricate in nature and relies on upon the understudy's pay in a given timeframe. It likewise investigates the family's yearly income, some other exceptional credit adds up to be paid, home loans, and resources, assuming any. payday loans

    ReplyDelete
  11. In any case, over a long while now, the private understudy advance projects have stirred discourses in regards to being more reasonable and helpful than even the government advance projects. Government credits no big surprise were prior on the best budgetary help alternative, the understudies could consider since they have less intrigue charges and offer various routes for reimbursing the sum. Payday Loans Chicago

    ReplyDelete
  12. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. The blog or and best that is extremely useful to keep I can share the ideas. Age Of War 2
    Big Farm | Slitherio | Tank Trouble
    Of the future as this is really what I was looking for, I am very comfortable and pleased to come here. Thank you very much.
    Happy Wheels | Goodgeme Empire | Slither.io

    ReplyDelete
  14. You go to our Web page you can play online games for free.
    Our Web page selection is the biggest collection so you can play entirely for free
    gun mayhem | age of war
    learn to fly | happy wheels game
    tank trouble

    ReplyDelete
  15. This blog is so nice to me. I will continue to come here again and again. Visit my link as well. Good luck
    temple run 2

    ReplyDelete
  16. Your article very well and good, bringing inspiration to many. I hope people visit my website.
    Friv 11 | K7x |A10 Online |Firv |Yoob 5 .

    ReplyDelete
  17. Thank your site! information your share is useful to me!

    happy wheels | abcya

    ReplyDelete